PolyMon 2.x - Suggestions and Ideas

Topics: News & Releases, PolyMon 2.x, User Forum
Coordinator
Apr 1, 2009 at 11:31 AM
Please use this thread to add your ideas, suggestions and wishlists for PolyMon 2.x.
Developer
Apr 1, 2009 at 12:52 PM
Hey Fred, I too was very encouraged to hear you on the podcast. I've been kicking myself for missing the live ustream version - I even asked Jonathan in a chat earlier that same day when they were going to have you on, but he missed my question and I didn't follow up. I've been hoping for an update and I'm looking forward to seeing you integrate PolyMon and PolyMonRT.

I've been using PolyMon for 10-12 months and I love it for monitoring one very self-contained portion of my enviornment. We have other tools like Nagios and OpenView, but I'm a Windows guy so Nagios isn't very interesting, and OpenView is... well... OpenView. Over-priced, overly-complex, and it doesn't support PowerShell. In fact, PolyMon is the only monitoring tool I'm aware of that has real PowerShell support.

Anyway - I would love to help out as your work on v2. I've spent a large part of my career on monitoring including some very high-profile products.

In addition to the features you've mentioned that you are working on, here are some I would love to see:

1. Monitored Entities - Generally this is servers, but it could really be anything with an IP address. I'd like to have PolyMon store my list of monitored entities and allow me to associate them with monitors. This way, I can have one monitor for disk space and when it runs it checks disk space on all of the associated servers.

2. Grouping of Entities - When I add a new email server I want to add it to the Email Servers group which is associated with various monitors. Then the new server is automatically monitored just like the current email servers.